Stimulating innovation to improve
healthcare access in remote regions.

The Harfang* Program, powered by Desjardins is a unique program that aims to address the persistent challenges related to limited healthcare access that remote or isolated rural communities are often faced with. By harnessing proven technological innovations, Harfang bridges the gap between cutting-edge solutions and regional healthcare needs. As a catalyst and integrator, CTS is committed to promoting accessibility, equity, and continuity of healthcare services.

I am extremely pleased to be working with Desjardins Group. For over 15 years, CTS has been catalyzing technology development and nurturing the healthcare innovation ecosystem. Not only will we witness productive partnerships emerging and strengthen our long-standing ties with Desjardins, but we will also ensure that the benefits reach those who need them most. I am confident that this program can lead to sustainable and equitable change in our healthcare ecosystem,

states CTS CEO
Jean-Pierre Robert.

One in five Quebecers is affected.

In Québec, nearly one in five people living in a remote or isolated rural region do not have access to the same healthcare services as those residing near a major urban centre. The barriers to healthcare access are numerous such as: the amount of travel time required and limited access to remote regions, the additional costs associated with travelling long distances, cultural differences, limited health awareness, poor digital literacy, and the scarcity of specialized medical resources. This situation is further exacerbated by health issues unique to Indigenous populations, who also experience inadequate access to healthcare. As a result, it is crucial to acknowledge the financial, cultural, geographical, and online-access inequalities in Québec. These barriers impact health status, resource utilization, life expectancy, as well as increased mortality rates in both adults and infants.

Innovation to enhance health equity.

Thanks to the support from the Desjardins Group, through its GoodSpark Fund, CTS is launching Harfang, powered by Desjardins. This program aims to contribute to better health for the population by facilitating access to remote care. Health technology, often deployed in large hospitals located in urban centres, could potentially have a considerable positive impact in remote areas. CTS and Desjardins are confident that this program can make a major contribution to solving the health-equity problems afflicting remote regions.

Discovery

The Discovery component aims to determine the specific and crucial needs common to several communities and identify areas for action to implement critical solutions for targeted users, including:

  • Patients requiring specialized and local services, including children and the elderly.
  • People at risk or suffering from chronic illnesses and requiring preventive support, early diagnosis, or sustained monitoring.
  • Care-infrastructure personnel (including clinicians, nurses, and administrative staff) whose workload is excessive.
  • Members of Indigenous communities.

Mobilization

The Mobilization component involves establishing partnerships with stakeholders. It also aims to identify proven technology solutions, mainly from Québec entrepreneurs. These partnerships are designed to ensure a better match between identified unmet needs, regional centres of expertise, and available resources all while providing appropriate responses to emerging issues.

Deployment

These components will lead to the Deployment component, leading to the creation of three technology showcases by June 2026. The selection and use of technology solutions in response to identified needs will have a positive impact on the lives of a wide range of patients, citizens, and stakeholders in the healthcare sector. Ultimately, the Harfang program aims to sustain its activities and become a long-term program in remote regions as a key part of the Québec healthcare system and a benchmark both in Canada and worldwide.

Through this substantial contribution from the GoodSpark Fund, Desjardins is helping to improve access to healthcare for people living in remote areas throughout Québec. We firmly believe that technological advancements will enhance care accessibility and lead to the emergence of solutions that can address health equity issues. That’s why we are proud to support the Harfang program, designed to offer more services to those in need across the province.

Says Marc Villeneuve, Vice-President,
Business Development and Outreach,
Business Services, Desjardins Group.

A rallying partnership

The alliance between CTS and the Desjardins Group represents the culmination of a long-standing collaboration. Together, they are committed to adopting a pragmatic and iterative working approach that focuses on results. CTS will act as a catalyst to facilitate exchanges between the stakeholders and participating companies, while Desjardins will act as a strategic financial partner.

With over 15 years of experience promoting innovative technologies developed by Québec entrepreneurs, CTS boasts a team of seasoned entrepreneurs and executives with multidisciplinary expertise. Supported by a global network of partners, scientists, clinicians, technologists, entrepreneurs, investors, and senior executives, CTS has an in-depth knowledge of the life sciences ecosystem, companies in the healthcare technology sector in Québec, and the challenges related to health tech adoption in care settings. Leveraging its expertise and international network, CTS can draw on the best practices of other provinces in Canada and global locations.

With regards to partnerships, CTS is actively seeking strategic collaborators as part of the program. Interested organizations and companies are encouraged to reach out to explore potential avenues for collaboration.

About Desjardins

Desjardins is North America’s largest and the world’s fifth-largest financial cooperative, with assets of $422.9 billion at December 31, 2023. Desjardins has been recognized as one of Canada’s top employers by Forbes and Mediacorp. To meet the far-ranging needs of its members and clients, including both individuals and businesses, it provides a comprehensive array of products and services through its extensive network of points of service, its virtual platforms, and its subsidiaries across Canada. As one of the most solid banking institutions in the world according to The Banker magazine, Desjardins has capital ratios and credit ratings that are among the best in the industry.

Stimuler l’innovation pour favoriser
l’accès aux soins de santé en région éloignée

Le programme Harfang, propulsé par Desjardins est un programme de relais technologique en santé qui vise à répondre aux besoins particuliers d’accès aux soins en région éloignée. En complément à ses activités d’accompagnement pour les entreprises à technologie innovante, le CTS jouera le rôle de catalyseur et d’intégrateur en déployant des innovations technologiques éprouvées et adaptées aux particularités régionales pour ainsi favoriser l’accessibilité, l’équité et la continuité des soins de santé.

Je me réjouis de cette collaboration avec le Mouvement Desjardins. Cela fait plus de 15 ans que le CTS catalyse le développement technologique et contribue à nourrir l’écosystème d’innovation en santé. Nous allons non seulement voir naître des partenariats structurants et renforcer celui que nous entretenons de longue date avec Desjardins, mais surtout en faire profiter ceux qui en ont le plus besoin. Je suis convaincu que ce programme peut mener à une modification durable et équitable de notre écosystème de santé.

Soutient Jean-Pierre Robert,
président-directeur général du CTS.

1 Québécois·e sur 5 est touché·e

Au Québec, près d’une personne sur cinq réside dans une région rurale éloignée ou isolée n’a pas le même accès aux soins de santé qu’une personne résidant près d’un grand centre urbain. Les barrières sont nombreuses : le temps et la difficulté d’accès liés à l’éloignement, les coûts supplémentaires engendrés par la distance, les différences culturelles, le manque de sensibilisation à la santé, la faible littératie numérique et enfin la non-disponibilité des ressources spécialisées. Ces barrières incluent aussi des problématiques de santé et d’accès aux soins auxquelles font face les populations autochtones. Nous observons donc au sein de la population québécoise des iniquités financières, culturelles, géographiques et d’accès à Internet. Cela a des conséquences sur l’état et les habitudes de santé, l’utilisation des ressources en santé, l’espérance de vie, le taux de mortalité et le taux de mortalité infantile.

L’innovation pour accroître l’équité en santé

Grâce à l’appui du Mouvement Desjardins, par le biais de son Fonds du Grand Mouvement, le CTS lance le programme Harfang, propulsé par Desjardins, dont le pari est de contribuer à une meilleure santé pour toute la population en facilitant l’accès aux soins à distance. Les technologies de la santé, traditionnellement déployées dans les grands hôpitaux et centres urbains, ont un potentiel d’impact considérable en région éloignée. Le CTS et Desjardins sont convaincus que ce programme peut grandement contribuer à résoudre les problèmes d’équité en santé auxquels font face les régions éloignées.

Volet Découverte

Le volet Découverte visera à cerner les besoins précis et cruciaux partagés par plusieurs communautés ainsi que les champs d’action pour la mise en place de pistes de solutions critiques pour les clientèles visées, dont:

  • les patient·e·s nécessitant des services spécialisés et de proximité, comme les enfants et les personnes âgées;
  • les personnes à risque ou souffrant de maladies chroniques et nécessitant un soutien préventif, un diagnostic précoce ou un suivi soutenu;
  • les membres du personnel des infrastructures de soins (clinicien·ne·s, infirmier·ère·s, personnel administratif, etc.) dont la charge de travail est trop lourde;
  • les membres des communautés autochtones (communications plus détaillées à suivre).

Volet Mobilisation

Le volet Mobilisation consistera à établir des partenariats avec les parties prenantes. Il comprendra aussi l’identification de solutions technologiques éprouvées et issues principalement de l’entrepreneuriat québécois. Ces partenariats permettront d’assurer une meilleure adéquation entre les besoins cernés, les centres d’expertise régionaux et les ressources disponibles, et de répondre adéquatement aux problématiques soulevées.

Volet Déploiement

Ces deux volets aboutiront au volet Déploiement, qui permettra la création de trois vitrines technologiques d’ici juin 2026. La sélection et l’utilisation des solutions technologiques en réponse aux besoins cernés auront une incidence positive sur la vie d’une foule de patient·e·s, citoyen·ne·s et intervenant·e·s ciblé·e·s du milieu de la santé. Ultimement, le programme Harfang vise à pérenniser ses activités pour devenir un programme à long terme établi dans les régions éloignées, une partie intégrante du système de santé québécois et une référence au Canada comme à l’international.

Par cet appui majeur du Fonds du Grand Mouvement, Desjardins contribue à l’amélioration de l’accès aux soins de santé aux personnes qui résident dans les régions éloignées du Québec. Nous croyons fermement que les avancées technologiques favoriseront l’accessibilité des soins et qu’elles feront émerger des solutions qui permettront de résoudre les problèmes d’équité en santé. C’est pourquoi nous sommes fiers de propulser le programme Harfang qui vise à offrir davantage de services à celles et ceux qui en ont besoin, et ce, aux quatre coins de la province », a déclaré Marc Villeneuve, vice-président, Développement et rayonnement des affaires, Services aux entreprises du Mouvement Desjardins.

A déclaré Marc Villeneuve,
vice-président, Développement et rayonnement des affaires,
Services aux entreprises du Mouvement Desjardins

Un partenariat mobilisateur

Le partenariat entre le CTS et le Mouvement Desjardins est l’aboutissement d’une collaboration de longue date. Ensemble, les organisations souhaitent développer une approche de travail pragmatique, itérative et axée sur les résultats. Le CTS agira en tant que maître d’oeuvre pour faciliter le maillage entre les milieux preneurs et les entreprises impliquées, tandis que Desjardins agira en tant que partenaire financier stratégique.

CTS s’appuie sur plus de 15 ans au service du développement de technologies innovantes issues de l’entrepreneuriat québécois. Il jouit d’une équipe d’entrepreneur·euse·s et de dirigeant·e·s chevronné·e·s possédant une expertise multidisciplinaire, et s’appuie sur un réseau mondial de partenaires, scientifiques et clinicien·ne·s, technologues, entrepreneur·euse·s, investisseur·euse·s et cadres dirigeant·e·s. Le CTS possède une très bonne connaissance de l’écosystème des sciences de la vie, des entreprises du secteur des technologies de la santé au Québec et des problématiques d’adoption de ces technologies dans les milieux de soins. Grâce à son expertise et à son réseau à l’échelle internationale, le CTS s’inspirera des bonnes pratiques des autres provinces canadiennes et du monde.

Au chapitre des partenariats, le CTS est actuellement en phase active de recherche et prévoit d’accueillir de nouveaux partenaires stratégiques tout au long du programme. Un appel est d’ailleurs lancé : toutes les organisations et entreprises intéressées sont invitées à communiquer avec le CTS pour explorer des occasions de collaboration

À propos du Mouvement Desjardins

Le Mouvement Desjardins est la coopérative financière la plus importante en Amérique du Nord et la cinquième au monde, avec un actif de 422,9 milliards de dollars au 31 décembre 2023. Desjardins a été nommé parmi les meilleurs employeurs au Canada par le magazine Forbes ainsi que par Mediacorp. Pour répondre aux besoins diversifiés de ses membres et de ses clients, particuliers comme entreprises, il offre une gamme complète de produits et de services par l’intermédiaire de son vaste réseau de points de service, de ses plateformes virtuelles et de ses filiales présentes à l’échelle canadienne. Figurant parmi les institutions bancaires les plus solides au monde selon le magazine The Banker, Desjardins affiche des ratios de capital et des cotes de crédit parmi les meilleurs de l’industrie.